Welcome to Roar Media's archive of content published from 2014 to 2023. As of 2024, Roar Media has ceased editorial operations and will no longer publish new content on this website.
The company has transitioned to a content production studio, offering creative solutions for brands and agencies.
To learn more about this transition, read our latest announcement here. To visit the new Roar Media website, click here.

Red Bull Campus Cricket 2015

Brush the dust off your vuvuzelas!

In its fourth successful year, Red Bull Campus Cricket (RBCC) is back to fuel the passions of young Sri Lankan cricketers. This annual international college cricket tournament will give wings to aspiring young cricketers in 200 universities across 8 cricketing nations namely Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the UAE.

Red Bull Campus Cricket

T20 style with a new twist

This is the fourth consecutive year the RBCC has been held, having started out in 2012, and it has been a roaring success since. But to add more kick to the game, this year the organizers have decided to add a few new elements to the game. While the matches will continue to follow standard T20 regulations, two special clauses have been added – the Super Sub and the Strategic Timeout allowing for more strategy and planning by the team right throughout the exciting and nail-biting games.

Coaches and prominent personalities from the Sri Lankan cricketing fraternity will also mentor teams from the Quarter Finals including the organization of special workshops on how to succeed in big tournaments.

Last year Sri Lanka had a few strong teams. The 14 reigning National Champions include ICBT, ACBT, ANC, APIIT, Auston Institute of Management, BMS, CINEC, IIHE, IIT, RIC, SLIIT, VHEC, General Sir John Kotelawala Defence University and the University of Sri Jayawardenapura will compete to represent Sri Lanka at this year’s World Finals.

Last years Sri Lankan Team

The team that represented Sri Lanka at last year’s tournament

Mark your calendar

Sri Lanka took pride in hosting the very first Asian Finals of RBCC in 2012. And clearly a favourite nation, Sri Lanka also went on to host the World Finals of the tournament in 2013. This year, Brendon Kuruppu, RBCC Tournament Director and Lahiru Thirimanne, Vice-Captain of the Sri Lanka Cricket Team, launched the local tournament with a unique “bowl-out” draw at the P. Saravanamuttu Stadium (The Oval) on April 9.

The preliminary stages will be held between May 7th and 9th. The Quarter Finals are scheduled to be held on September 5th and 6th, and the Semi Finals on September 12th, followed immediately with the National Finals on September 13th. The World Finals, where the best two teams will go head to head, will be on October 21, in the heart of cricket crazy – India!

Speaking at the tournament draw, Thirimanne said that “Cricket has always united us as a nation seeking a common victory. Red Bull Campus Cricket does an exceptional job of tapping into this determination and inspires young Sri Lankan cricketers to come forward, nurture and showcase their talent as they represent their university and country on a global stage.”

For more details on Red Bull Campus Cricket, visit their website or their Facebook Page

Related Articles